Impulse Art Management

Sumatrakade 1039
1019 RD Amsterdam
The Netherlands
P +31 20 626 6944
Member of the International Artist
Managers’ Association (IAMA)

Marian Dijkhuizen* Mezzo Soprano

Mezzosoprano Marian Dijkhuizen studied classical singing at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague and continued her studies in Zürich with Werner Güra, where she obtained here Masters of Opera with highest distinction. She followed masterclasses with, among others, Thomas Hampson, Margreet Honig, Meinard Kraak, Tom Allen and John Norris and is currently coached by Abbie Furmansky and Ann Rodiger. Marian won prizes at the Prinses Christina Concours in the Netherlands, the Kiwanis Wettbewerb in Zürich and at the international contest CantateBach in Greifswald, Germany.


Her repertoire contains works from early baroque till modern music. She sang the alto soli in oratorios by Bach, Beethoven, Handel, Mendelssohn, Mozart and Dvorak among others. Active as a concert soloist she works with conductors such as Peter Dijkstra, Risto Joost, Daniel Reuss and Clau Scherrer and orchestras like Kammerorchester Basel, Concerto Copenhagen, Il Concerto Viennese, Wiener Akademie and Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century.


As an opera soloist she sang the title roles in Simplicius Simplicissimus by Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Radamisto by Handel and appeared as Nummer Drei in the newly written opera Forelle Stanley by swiss composer Daniel Fueter. She appeared at the Dutch National Opera in the world premiere of Only the sound remains, a new opera by Kaija Saariaho, directed by Peter Sellars. Marian sang the role of Youngest daughter in Trauernacht; a scenical production with Bach cantatas, directed by Katie Mitchell, with the Ensemble Pygmalion under the baton of Raphael Pichon.


Highlights in the coming season 2017-18 are concerts and CD recording of Ernst W. Wolf’s Passion, with Michael Willens; Netherlands tour with Scapino ballet and Combattimento: Handel aria’s and duets (December ’17; January-March ’18); and various Passion concerts.



July 2017